Revelation Song Owns Me!

The Holy Spirit moves us in various ways, that’s for sure.  For me, one particular way has always been through music.  Once I started really trying to live for God I noticed there were certain songs that would just grab hold of me.

Now I know it’s often said “it’s not about if you like the song or the style of music or not, it’s about worshiping God.” and I certainly believe in that…however this is different.  We’ve all got our favorite songs, the ones that we hear them and we turn them up, get in a good mood, maybe sing out loud, dance, etc.  And most of us would feel differently about a country-western song compared to say, a hip-hop song (though some people are just weird and like all types of music…I think they’re lying).

This is different.  There are songs that upon hearing them I began to think of God, looking upwards, and then I start to weep.  For whatever reason these songs thrust the sheer awesomeness of God upon me, instantly reminding me of the magnitude of what He has done, is doing, and will do.  There are a few of them that have this effect on me, and the list grows as I hear new songs and get familiar with the words, but there are none of them that even compare to one song: Revelation Song.

I can’t remember where I heard it first, but I suspect it was at the best church in the world, The Way Church, which I call home.  What I do know is that some time about six months or so ago I heard this song at church and it hit me like a ton of bricks.  I raised both hands to the Lord and turned my face upwards, singing it out to Him.  Tears rolled down my cheeks, not one or two tears…it was as though there were tear-factory-workers in my eyes constantly rolling a new one down my face every 4 or 5 seconds.  It’s a wonder I didn’t end up dehydrated or temporarily blind.

Since that point it’s always a similar experience every time I hear it.  In fact, the reason I started writing this today was because I had just listened to it twice (two different versions) and was literally on my knees in front of my desk, tear-factory-workers putting in overtime, hands raised, just destroyed.

The other day I heard it in the car on a day that I was praying for God to “break my stony heart” as another song I love says.  I had been feeling like there was this wall that I couldn’t get past, I couldn’t seem to enter God’s presence for a few days, and I was on my way to a Men’s Breakfast I attend every Wednesday morning (7AM at MeMaws, IHB!).  On cue the song came on (Phillips, Craig and Dean’s version) and I found myself at a stoplight with my eyes welling up.

I pulled into the parking lot of the restaurant where we have the Men’s Breakfast and after I put the car in park I closed my now drenched eyes and raised my hands, finishing the song before I got out of the car.  It didn’t matter that I was in public, that a friend had pulled up next to me…I was powerless to do anything except worship God in that moment.

I often think about this song and its various parts while it’s playing.  I think of what each part means to me and why it “get’s me”.  So I thought I’d blog about it here so that maybe I can share some of God’s power that I feel through this song.  I’m going to break down the lyrics below in bold and add my comments.  I pray that God is glorified through this for it is He that gives me anything I have to offer.

Revelation Song (click to listen)

Worthy is the,
Lamb who was slain.
Holy, Holy, is He.
– Worthy, how incredibly worthy Jesus was to die for us.  Without sin even though tempted, befriending sinners, healing, teaching, saving…How much more worthy than an actual lamb that was slain for the sin offering in those times?
Sing a new song, to Him who sits on
Heaven’s Mercy Seat
– I think we can, at the very least, sing a song to our Lord and Savior?  He who sits on Heaven’s Mercy Seat…the mercy we all received through Jesus’ sacrifice.

(Chorus)

Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
– We affirm this, we declare this, we worship God by saying three times just how Holy He is.  Holy as it pertains to God to me means: perfect, wonderful, doing the perfect things that only God can.  Most High, above all else, set apart.
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing:

Praise to the King of Kings! With ALL creation I sing! Sure all of creation might not be singing this, but to me this is a power statement.  I sing praise with the power of all creation, as it should be, to the King of Kings.
You are my everything,
And I will adore You…!
– For me I forget this or don’t think of this enough at times…Christ is my everything! What else would I place as highly as I regard God?!?  I remind myself that He is my everything and I proclaim to Him and others that I will adore Him!  Adore Him!  Love Him with all of my heart for what He has done for me…for all of us!

Clothed in rainbows, of living color

Flashes of lightning, rolls of thunder
– God’s awesomeness.  His power exceeds the wonders of this earth, such as lighting and thunder, though we can use these things to try to wrap our brains around His strength.
Blessing and honor, strength and
Glory and power be
To You the Only Wise King,

(Chorus)
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And – I – will – adore You!

Filled with wonder,
Awestruck wonder
– Truly awestruck is the wonder of God.  We can’t even imagine His glory.
At the mention of Your Name
Jesus, Your Name is Power
– Here is another power verse.  This part usually ramps up and is delivered with strength and confidence.  We boldly proclaim to the whole world just how powerful and ALIVE Jesus is today.  Unapologetically we sing these words as TRUTH!
Breath, and Living Water
Such a marvelous mystery
Yeah…

(Chorus)
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come, yeah
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And – I – will – adore You!

I have to say that the words I wrote above don’t even come close to the way this song makes me feel when I hear it.  I don’t think there’s any way I can do it justice on a blog as it truly is the Holy Spirit moving in me…something I cannot put to words.  However I would encourage you to listen to this song and just really think of the things being said and how you feel about them.  Sing this song to your Creator, your Savior, the God who loves you and never leaves you no matter what you do…rather He is smiling down upon you with everlasting love.  Doesn’t He deserve our praise, our “empty hands held high”, our submission through worship?

I hope you’ve enjoyed this and that God blesses you through the words He has given me.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Tre

I am nothing. Christ is everything. Anything that comes from me first came from Him. Everything I do should be for Him. These are the things we need to remember and why the blog is called "All for Jesus Christ"
This entry was posted in Calls to Action, Realizations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revelation Song Owns Me!

  1. Pingback: God in the Everyday | All for Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

