A Man Dies Saving Your Life: How Would You Express Gratitude to His Father?

It’s funny how much we take praise for granted. It’s praise, it’s like tithing, you just do it. Sure we get into it at times, we feel it…we realize deep down why we do it…but there are times where the true “duh” moment hits me.

Today I was listening to Saviour King by Hillsong and the words hit me like a ton of bricks:

“Let now our hearts burn with a flame.  A fire consuming all for Your Son’s…Holy name.”

I imagined God sitting on his throne and all of these people coming up to him praising, pleading with him almost…to honor the name of His Son for what He did.

Sacrilegious as it sounds, I put myself in God’s shoes for a moment, imagining if I saw what He saw in that moment.

What if I had to watch my son live Jesus’ life and in-turn, death?  What if you had to watch your son do the same?  Can you imagine the feeling to see droves of people at your feet bowing and begging to honor your son’s name for his sacrifice?

I bet you can.  That’s why I called it a “duh” moment.

Similar to how we’d honor a soldier’s name who died defending our country.  Or someone who saved another’s life and lost their own.  How much more shall we honor the name of He who saved the world, the entire world from the fires of hell?

If you or I had been imprisoned for years in a far away land and one day were set free by a brave young man who consequently was killed for our rescue…how would we approach this man’s father?

Think of Jesus and His Father as real people, like the examples, and perhaps the praise experience for all of us can be more personal, more real, more heart-felt.  Let yourself see the words of the song as a story you see unfolding in your head.  Imagine you are at God’s feet thanking Him for the sacrifice Jesus made for you!

About Tre

I am nothing. Christ is everything. Anything that comes from me first came from Him. Everything I do should be for Him. These are the things we need to remember and why the blog is called "All for Jesus Christ"
This entry was posted in Calls to Action, Realizations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Man Dies Saving Your Life: How Would You Express Gratitude to His Father?

Leave a Reply

